If you suffer from Celiac Disease, Gluten Sensitivity and/or Wheat Allergies- it is recommended to follow a gluten free diet.
Lucky for you, it is now very easy to find gluten free cereals, pasta, bread and numerous types of flours… Here are a few easy tips and swaps to make your life easier, feel great and still enjoy cooking/baking and eating!
For any baking recipe you can substitute wheat flour with:
- Barley: for wheat-sensitive only – contains gluten
- Rye: for wheat-sensitive only – contains gluten
- Potato flour
- Rice flour
- Soy flour
- Tapioca flour
Oats (labeled gluten-free)
Nuts and nut butters
Herbs and spices
Meats and fish
Foods to avoid:
Wheat / Kamut / Spelt / Rye / Barley
Be aware of food containing Barley Enzymes: mostly found in breakfast cereals, soy sauce and some vinegars